Olympic dishes

The Olympics are finally around the corner – a good occasion to get reunited with old and new friends. For the opening ceremony, we have obviously organised a dinner party. This time, though, each of us has to prepare something that recalls the flag of the country of origin.

However, no one in my group of friends is 100% British (that’s what happens when you go to the biggest international university in London), so I offered to do a British flag dessert as well.

Let’s start with my Italian dish. For this, I am going to re-propose one of my family’s traditions. Whenever there is a sport competition, my mum does her “cold pasta with pesto, mozzarella and tomatoes” –green white and red as the flag.

Simple and quick recipe:

  • Basil
  • Garlic
  • Oil
  • Pine Kernel
  • Walnut kernel
  • Romano cheese or Parmesan

I put everything in the mixer, the quantity of each ingredient is a rough guess as my mum has never been able to tell me the exact quantity! Then I cook the pasta, my favourite is the butterfly shaped one. In the meanwhile, I cut the mozzarella cheese and tomatoes; when the pasta is ready, I add everything together and put in the fridge. Before serving it, as a master touch, I am just going to draw the flag on top of the dish using pesto, mozzarella and tomatoes.

For the dessert, the colours have to be rigorously blue background, white and red stripes.

This was a bit harder, but I had my lunch break yesterday to think about it and what I came up with was “Vanilla ice cream served on layer of blueberry cream and decorated with strawberries”. For this, the ingredients are pretty straightforward:

  • Blueberries
  • Sugar
  • Vanilla ice-cream
  • Strawberries

The first step is to boil the blueberries with sugar until it becomes a dense cream and then, to make it smoother, a quick spin in the liquidiser adding some water if needed. Once the cream is done, I am going to spread it on the serving plates, add a scoop of vanilla ice-cream and finally draw around it the red star with the strawberries previously cut in small pieces.

Lorenza.

This entry was posted in London Food PR, London Restaurant PR, Spoon Blog 2012 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

