My favourite Chinese restaurants in London

I’m Jia, and currently interning at Spoon PR. There are 4 facts about me: 1. My name Jia means good in Chinese, hopefully you can remember it. 2. I first arrived in England 3 years and 1 month ago without knowing anyone here. And I’ve never been back. 3. I’ve travelled alone in six EU countries (excluding the UK). 4. My hometown Kaifeng (Henan Province) is not only one of the eight ancient capitals in China, but a foodie hot spot as well.  My dad is a foodie, so am I. That’s why I’m writing the blog today.

Tuesday (8th Oct.), the Spoon PR Foodie Team (me, Ailsa, Alice and Lisa) went to Plum Valley for dim sum, while our boss Sarah was left in the office. To make her feel better, we would not tell her every detail of our dinner.

It was my first dining experience in Plum Valley, and I quite enjoyed it. The decor is a bit dark, but it’s modern and traditional, in a Chinese way. While many Chinese restaurants serve shrimp crackers before main course, Plum Valley served two cold dishes: pickled vegetables and roasted peanuts.  The pickled vegetables really reminded me of my hometown. By the way, their beef tripe was my favourite that night.

Much to my surprise, Ailsa and Alice are quite skilful using chopsticks-you can guess how many Chinese restaurants they have tried!

The waitress was quite helpful and humorous, she also tried very hard to explain to the other three foodies what vegetarian chicken/duck is made of.

As our table was occupied by dim sum all the time, we once felt we had over ordered. In fact, we were doing quite well. Their beef tripe was my favourite. We enjoyed dim sum so much that we didn’t waste any food!

After dinner, the Foodie Team decided that our mission would be: to try every nice Chinese restaurant in London.

Of course, I already have my own list, so it’s time to share, not only with the Foodie Team (of course, we won’t forget Sarah), but also with our lovely readers!

Aromatic Crispy Duck  (Source: Four seasons Chinese Restaurant)

Aromatic Crispy Duck (Source: Four seasons Chinese Restaurant)

1. Four Seasons Chinese Restaurant (文兴酒家)

It’s nice to bring friends here and enjoy the famed roast duck! Other dishes are also delicious and not at all pricey. You get good value for money!

Address 1: 12 Gerrard Street, China Town, London, W1D 5PR

Phone: 020 7494 0870

Opening Hours:

 Monday – Saturday 12noon – 1:00am

Sunday 11am – 1:00am

Address 2: 23 Wardour Street, China Town, London, W1D 6PW

Phone: 020 7287 9995

Opening Hours:

Sunday – Thursday 12noon – 11:30pm

Friday & Saturday 12noon – 12midnight

Address 3: 84 Queenway, Bayswater, London, W2 3RL

Phone:  020 7229 4320

Opening Hours:

Monday – Saturday 12noon – 11:30pm

Sunday 12noon – 11:00pm

2. Hunan Ren (湖南人) (Local Friends Restaurant)

They serve very authentic Hunan cuisine and my friends from Hunan all like it. As they have quite detailed menu, it’s better to go with a Chinese friend. They also offer free Karaoke for your group, special conditions apply.

Note:Hunan cuisine, also known as Xiang cuisine (湘菜), consists of the cuisines of the Xiang River (湘江) region, Dongting Lake (洞庭湖), and western Hunan province. It is one of the Eight Great Traditions of Chinese cuisine (other seven are Anhui, Cantonese, Fujian, Jiangsu, Shandong, Szechuan, and Zhejiang cuisines) and is well known for its hot spicy flavour, fresh aroma and deep colour.

 Address: 132 Bethnal Green Rd, London E2 6DG

Phone: 020 7729 9954

3. Gourmet San/Old Place (老地方)

My Chinese friends describe it as the best place for lamb skewers. Apart from that, its north/northeast cuisines are also highly recommended; the portions are both huge and tasty.

Address 1 (new branch): 88-90 Middlesex Street, London, E1 7EZ

Phone: 0207 247 2200

Opening Hours:

Monday – Sunday

Lunch 12:00 – 14:30  Dinner 16:30 – 23:00

Address 2:  261 Bethnal Green Road, London, E2 6AH

Phone: 0207 729 8388

Opening Hours:

Monday – Friday 16:30 – 23:00

Saturday – Sunday 12:30 – 23:00

4. Noodle Bar (兰州拉面)

You can’t expect a fine dining experience here, but you can get handmade warm noodles at a reasonable price! Like many Northern Chinese, I can’t live without noodles and there are many choices in my hometown (Kaifeng). But in London, the only place for authentic Chinese noodle soup must be Noodle Bar.

Address: 33 Cranbourne Street, WC2H 7AD

Let me know how you get on.

Jia.

This entry was posted in Foods Blog, London Food PR, London Restaurant PR, Spoon Blog 2013, Spoon Loves and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My favourite Chinese restaurants in London

  1. argone says:

    Thank you for this list, I keep it for my next stay in London ! ❤

Leave a Reply

